Welcome to the Ohio Department of Insurance

Skip Navigation

Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of Ohio Department of Insurance. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.

Press Release

Department Employee Karen Vourvopoulos Selected Regulator of Year



COLUMBUS – Lieutenant Governor and Department of Insurance Director Mary Taylor announced that Department employee and Gahanna-native Karen Vourvopoulos was selected as the “Regulator of the Year” by members of the Securities and Insurance Licensing Association (SILA).
“This award speaks volumes about the type of dedicated staff we have at the Department working on behalf of Ohioans,” Taylor said. “Karen is very deserving of this special honor and I applaud her hard work and commitment.”
SILA representatives lauded Vourvopoulos, a chief in the Licensing division, for her work at the Ohio Department of Insurance and with SILA. She was also recognized by SILA for her knowledge, expertise and participation during educational conferences. Vourvopoulos was also commended for her leadership during the Department’s agent-licensing system conversion and with the Producer Licensing Model Act.
The Warren E. Spruill Regulator Recognition Award is presented by SILA to an industry regulator who demonstrates leadership and initiative in the improvement of the relationship between state insurance departments and the licensing/securities industries.


# # #


Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town Street, Third Floor - Suite 300
Columbus, Ohio  43215
Mike DeWine, Governor | Jillian Froment, Director
General Info: 614-644-2658 | Consumer Hotline: 800-686-1526
Fraud Hotline: 800-686-1527 | Medicare Hotline: 800-686-1578