Welcome to the Ohio Department of Insurance

Skip Navigation

Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of Ohio Department of Insurance. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.



Press Release - April 22, 2011
 
STATE OF OHIO
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
COMMUNICATIONS OFFICE
 
 

4/22/2011

Department of Insurance to Employ Electronic Licensing System


New technology to help with implementation of licensing laws


COLUMBUS — Ohio Lieutenant Governor and Director of the Department of Insurance Mary Taylor announced the Insurance Department would soon be creating efficiencies in its licensing division by employing a new electronic licensing system. The new system will help the Department implement the new licensing laws (HB300).

The implementation of this computer system will take place beginning at close of business on May 5 and continue through May 16. During this time period, there will be limited online access to licensing pages on the Department of Insurance website. The Department will resume accepting and processing applications and service requests beginning May 16.

Once implemented, the new computer system improves efficiency at the Department by storing all the collected information in one place. That information includes CE credits, criminal back ground check results, examination results, pre-licensing education information, and appointments.

The new system also will increase the speed in which a license is approved by utilizing an automatic approval process. The average time will decrease from 2-to-5 days down to 1-to-2 days. The new system also will allow for enhanced email communication with agents potentially saving the Department $80,000 per year in mailing costs.

The Department will release phase II of the system in July which creates a web portal for agents to access and manage their personal information and monitor their CE credits and appointments. It also enables agents to print their own license and certification letters.

The law, signed in February of 2010, requires licenses to be renewed every two years. An agent license will expire on the last day of the agent’s birth month on the year it’s renewable. In addition, the continuing education requirement has increased by 4 credits to 24 with three of those credits required to be ethics credits.

 

 


# # #



 

The State of Ohio is an Equal Opportunity Employer

Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town Street, Third Floor - Suite 300
Columbus, Ohio  43215
|
|
|
John Kasich, Governor | Mary Taylor, Lt. Governor / Director
General Info: 614-644-2658 | Consumer Hotline: 800-686-1526
Fraud Hotline: 800-686-1527 | OSHIIP Hotline: 800-686-1578