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Dear Surety Bail Bond Agent: 
 
Congratulations on the receipt of your new surety bail bond agent license.  There are certain surety bail bond agent 
licensing requirements that you need to be made aware of and/or require immediate attention on your part. 
 
Ohio Revised Code §§ 3905.85 (C): A surety bail bond agent license issued pursuant to this section authorizes the 
holder, when appointed by an insurer, to execute or countersign bail bonds in connection with judicial proceedings 
and to receive money or other things of value for those services. However, the holder shall not execute or deliver a 
bond during the first one hundred eighty days after the license is initially issued. This restriction does not apply 
with respect to license renewals. 
 
Ohio Revised Code §§ 3905.85(F): All surety bail bond agents shall renew their license annually on or before the 
last day of February.  Renewal applications shall be accompanied by a $150.00 renewal fee. The superintendent 
shall not renew the license of any surety bail bond agent who fails to meet the continuing education requirements or 
whose application for renewal does not meet the requirements of section 3905.85 of the Revised Code.  
 
Ohio Revised Code §§ 3905.88:  Each individual who is issued a license as a resident surety bail bond agent shall 
complete at least seven hours of continuing education in each license renewal period. The continuing education shall 
be offered in a course or program of study related to the bail bond business that is approved by the superintendent of 
insurance and shall include at least one hour of approved ethics training.  The superintendent shall not renew the 
license of any surety bail bond agent who fails to meet the continuing education requirements or whose application 
for renewal does not meet the requirements of section 3905.85 of the Revised Code.  
 
Ohio Revised Code §§ 3905.85(G):  All individuals licensed as a surety bail bond agent in Ohio are required to 
have a wallet identification card that includes the licensee’s photograph and any other information required by the 
superintendent.  The licensee shall keep the wallet identification card on the licensee’s person while engaging in the 
bail bond business.  The superintendent has designated Prometric as the source of these photo ID cards.  
 
• Resident agents requesting photo ID must submit a copy of their passing score report or a letter requesting a 

photo ID along with the following information:   
o Applicant’s full name which was used at time of examination 
o Last four digits of the SSN 
o The date of examination 
o A $25 fee made payable to “Prometric”. 
 

  The above items should be sent to the following address:   
   Prometric 
   1260 Energy Lane 
          St. Paul, MN 55108 
 
• Non-resident agents requesting a photo ID must contact Prometric at 1-800-532-2169 to schedule an 

appointment for a photograph for processing.  Make sure you bring your current surety bail bond agent license 
and a current photo ID to the photograph session.  Once the photo is processed, instructions on payment 
procedure will be provided by Prometric. 

 
If you have any questions regarding the information contained in this letter, please feel free to contact the License 

Division at 614-644-2665 
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